Compliance Radar
Who was sanctioned, and for what?
Fines, court rulings and incidents from Europe, North America, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, Middle East and Africa: 2,207 cases from 44 jurisdictions, each with an official source and checked against that source before publication. Filter by country, area of law and sector. Click a chart to drill down one level.
Click a bar to drill down one level.
Where?
by authority- Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) €180.7m 95 % · 3 cases
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO) €6.5m 3 % · 11 cases
- Bristol Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive) €1.17m 1 % · 1 case
- City of London Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive) €917,326 0 % · 1 case
- Chelmsford Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive) €731,124 0 % · 1 case
- Uxbridge Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive) €462,583 0 % · 1 case
- Leeds Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive) €349,895 0 % · 1 case
- Environment Agency €234,153 0 % · 1 case
- Birmingham Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive) €18,888 0 % · 1 case
- HM Treasury, Office of Financial Sanctions Implementation (OFSI) €17,820 0 % · 1 case
- 3 more€11,517
What for?
by area of lawAll areas of law
- Competition law €180.7m 95 % · 3 cases
- Information security and cyber €5.06m 3 % · 2 cases
- Health and safety and employment law €3.66m 2 % · 7 cases
- Data protection €1.44m 1 % · 9 cases
- Environment and sustainability €234,153 0 % · 1 case
- Sanctions and export control €17,820 0 % · 1 case
- Supply chain and human rights – 0 % · 5 cases
- Capital markets and financial supervision – 0 % · 1 case
Who?
by company- Barratt Redrow, Persimmon, Taylor Wimpey u. a. (7 Wohnungsbauunternehmen) €113.6m 59 % · 1 case
- Anonymised companies €72.6m 38 % · 15 cases
- Dragon Alfa Cement Limited €1.17m 1 % · 1 case
- Lanes Group Limited €917,326 0 % · 1 case
- Tarmac Building Products Limited €731,124 0 % · 1 case
- SCS Railways (Joint Venture von Skanska Construction UK Limited, Costain Limited und Strabag AG) €462,583 0 % · 1 case
- Hillbeck Homes (Sowerby Bridge) Ltd €349,895 0 % · 1 case
- Home Improvement Marketing Ltd €347,343 0 % · 1 case
- Green Spark Energy Ltd €289,452 0 % · 1 case
- Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys Ltd €276,928 0 % · 1 case
- 5 more€293,633
When?
per year, by date of decision| Period | Cases | Total |
|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 3 | €5.27m |
| 2023 | 7 | €67.2m |
| 2024 | 5 | €180,624 |
| 2025 | 5 | €115.2m |
| 2026 | 9 | €3.27m |
29 cases
24 Sep 2026 M&J GroupCMA: fine against construction firm for concealing evidence during an inspection €29,075
During an inspection as part of an investigation into bid rigging, a work mobile phone and documents were removed from the premises on the instructions of a manager, and possession of a work mobile phone was denied. The UK Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) imposed a fine of 25,000 GBP on M&J.
Dawn raid training is mandatory: removing mobile phones or documents during an inspection obstructs the investigation, even when acting on instructions.
Correct conduct during inspections (dawn raids), no removal of evidence
- Authority / court
- Competition and Markets Authority (CMA)
- Area of law
- Competition law · Cartels and collusion
- Legal basis
- Section 40A(1) Competition Act 1998
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Culpability
- intentional
- Liability of senior managers
- Measures against individuals are not reported here.
- Published
- 24 Sep 2026
Original amount 25,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 24 Sep 2026.
- CMA, Pressemitteilung zu M&J Group (Entscheidung 2025) Press release of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 3 · Direct link
Report an error
16 Sep 2026 Hillbeck Homes (Sowerby Bridge) LtdDeveloper pays £300,000 after agency worker falls through unprotected stairwell opening €349,895
A 24-year-old labourer working as a temporary worker for a scaffolding company fell, in his second week of work on the developer's housing site, through a stairwell opening that was neither securely covered nor guarded, dropping one storey onto concrete and suffering serious spinal injuries. The court found the company guilty on three counts because it had neither adequately planned nor supervised work at height and had not taken suitable measures to prevent falls. Fine of £300,000 plus costs. The company is a micro-enterprise with fewer than 10 employees.
Floor openings on construction sites must be covered with load-bearing covers or guarded at all times – new and temporary workers in particular do not know where the hazards are.
Fall protection at openings; induction of new workers
- Authority / court
- Leeds Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive)
- Area of law
- Health and safety and employment law · Workplace safety and accidents
- Legal basis
- Work at Height Regulations 2005
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Employees
- Under 50
- Published
- 21 Sep 2026
Original amount 300,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 16 Sep 2026.
- Construction company fined after 24-year-old father falls through unprotected stairwell opening (HSE) Press release of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 3 · Direct link
Report an error
3 Sep 2026 BDW Trading (Barratt Redrow)Barratt Redrow subsidiary BDW pays 201,500 GBP to environmental projects after silt entered brooks €234,153
At the Ladden Garden Village construction site in Yate, a subcontractor washed silt from the site drainage into two brooks over six days in July 2022. The Environment Agency accepted an Enforcement Undertaking: BDW is paying 201,500 GBP to three environmental and charitable projects, bears the investigation costs and had already invested over 180,000 GBP in remediation, training and improved surface water management. According to the annual accounts filed with the UK companies register for financial year 2025, the company had around 5,217 employees.
Developers are liable for environmental damage caused by their subcontractors; clear procedures and training on handling surface water prevent costly proceedings.
Protecting watercourses on construction sites and managing subcontractors
Missing or inadequate training played a role in the decision.
- Authority / court
- Environment Agency
- Area of law
- Environment and sustainability · Emissions and permits
- Legal basis
- Environmental Civil Sanctions (England) Order 2010 (Enforcement Undertaking)
- Action
- Other
- Status of proceedings
- final
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Employees
- 1,000 to 9,999
- Mitigating circumstances
- Acceptance of responsibility, remediation, training of employees and application for a discharge permit.
- Published
- 3 Sep 2026
Original amount 201,500 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 3 Sep 2026.
- Builder pays £201,500 to charities after silting watercourses Press release of an authority
- Companies House: Registereintrag BDW Trading Limited (03018173) Official register or notice
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 3 · Direct link
Report an error
21 Jul 2026 Dragon Alfa Cement LimitedCement plant with 12 employees: 1 million GBP after fatal accident at unguarded machinery €1.17m
In 2021 a 35-year-old employee was crushed by a 1.6-tonne concrete weight at the cement bagging plant in Sharpness. A large section of the perimeter fencing had routinely been removed over a prolonged period, leaving dangerous moving parts freely accessible. The company – with 12 employees according to its 2024 annual accounts – was fined 1 million GBP plus 9,621 GBP in costs.
Treat removed guard fencing as a management failure and stop it – tolerating permanently open danger zones can lead to fines in the millions, even for a small business.
- Authority / court
- Bristol Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive)
- Area of law
- Health and safety and employment law · Workplace safety and accidents
- Legal basis
- Section 2(1) Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Employees
- Under 50
- Published
- 21 Jul 2026
Original amount 1,000,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 21 Jul 2026.
- Cement company fined £1,000,000 after father crushed by 1.6 tonne concrete weight (HSE) Press release of an authority
- Companies House: Registereintrag Dragon Alfa Cement Limited (03473666) Official register or notice
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
16 Jun 2026 SCS Railways (Joint Venture von Skanska Construction UK Limited, Costain Limited und Strabag AG)HS2 joint venture SCS Railways: £400,000 fine after tipper truck fall €462,583
SCS Railways, a joint venture of Skanska, Costain and Strabag on the HS2 rail project, was fined £400,000 and ordered to pay £8,974 in costs. On 27 July 2021 at the Copthall North site near Uxbridge, a 20-tonne tipper truck belonging to a contracted haulage company fell from an excavation ramp and the driver was injured. The Health and Safety Executive found neither signage nor edge protection on the vehicle routes; a traffic route changed on the morning of the incident had left an unprotected edge and had been neither properly planned nor communicated in time.
Every short-notice change to site vehicle routes needs a risk check and immediate briefing of all drivers.
Traffic routes and change management on major construction sites
- Authority / court
- Uxbridge Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive)
- Area of law
- Health and safety and employment law · Workplace safety and accidents
- Legal basis
- Section 3(1) Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Mitigating circumstances
- Guilty plea.
- Published
- 26 Jun 2026
Original amount 400,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 16 Jun 2026.
- HSE: HS2 contractor fined £400,000 after tipper truck driver injured (26.06.2026) Press release of an authority
Checked against the official source on 3 Oct 2026 · Direct link
Report an error
28 May 2026 Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys LtdICO: £240,000 fine for Thermotech over marketing calls to TPS numbers €276,928
The ICO fined Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys Ltd £240,000 and issued an enforcement notice. After executing a search warrant in April 2025, the regulator found that between October 2024 and March 2025 the company had instigated 575,062 unsolicited marketing calls to numbers that had been on the TPS register for more than 28 days. There were 132 complaints. The legal basis is regulations 21 and 24 of PECR.
- Authority / court
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO)
- Area of law
- Data protection · Marketing and consent
- Legal basis
- Regulations 21 und 24 PECR; section 55A DPA 1998
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
Original amount 240,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 28 May 2026.
- ICO Enforcement: Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys Ltd (MPN). Enthält Informationen des Information Commissioner's Office, lizenziert unter der Open Government Licence v3.0. Enforcement database of an authority
- Monetary Penalty Notice: Thermotech Wall and Loft Surveys Ltd (28 May 2026) Decision of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
16 Feb 2026 Carillion plc (in liquidation)FCA: Public censure for Carillion plc over misleading market information Reprimand or warning
The FCA publicly censured the former construction and services group Carillion plc. The regulator found that between July 2016 and July 2017 the company published misleading information, breaching the prohibition of market manipulation and listing requirements; in July 2017 Carillion had to announce a provision of £845 million. Because the company has been in liquidation since January 2018, no fine was imposed; the FCA stated it would otherwise have been £37.91 million.
- Authority / court
- Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
- Area of law
- Capital markets and financial supervision · Market abuse and insider dealing
- Legal basis
- Art. 15 MAR; Listing Rule 1.3.3R; Listing Principle 1; Premium Listing Principle 2; sections 91 und 123 FSMA 2000
- Action
- Reprimand or warning
- Status of proceedings
- final
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- FCA Final Notice: Carillion plc (in liquidation) (16 February 2026) Decision of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
29 Jan 2026 Tarmac Building Products LimitedTarmac Building Products: 633,300 GBP after worker's legs crushed on production line €731,124
At the Linford plant in 2022 an employee's legs were trapped between metal frames weighing over a tonne because the interlocked access gate did not cut the power to the preceding sections of track. Previous near misses and a risk assessment from years earlier that called for additional control measures were not acted upon; fine of 633,300 GBP plus 5,583 GBP in costs. According to its 2025 annual accounts, the company had an average of 596 employees.
Follow up near misses and outstanding actions from risk assessments – otherwise they prove in court that you knew of the risk.
- Authority / court
- Chelmsford Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive)
- Area of law
- Health and safety and employment law · Workplace safety and accidents
- Legal basis
- Section 2(1) Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Employees
- 250 to 999
- Published
- 30 Jan 2026
Original amount 633,300 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 29 Jan 2026.
- Building materials manufacturer fined over £600,000 after worker suffers life-changing injuries at Tarmac plant (HSE) Press release of an authority
- Companies House: Registereintrag Tarmac Building Products Limited (04026569) Official register or notice
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
27 Jan 2026 Salford Grab Hire LimitedExcavator bucket used as a prop: mechanic seriously injured – 10,000 GBP for grab hire firm €11,517
During the repair of a tipper truck, a JCB bucket without a quick hitch or retaining pin was used to prop up the raised tipper body; the one-tonne bucket fell and seriously injured a mechanic. The business (11 employees according to its micro-entity accounts) had not used suitable props; fine of 10,000 GBP plus 3,475.90 GBP in costs.
Secure raised loads only with props designed for the purpose – improvised supports using work equipment are a typical cause of serious crush injuries.
- Authority / court
- Warrington Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive)
- Area of law
- Health and safety and employment law · Workplace safety and accidents
- Legal basis
- Section 2(1) Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Employees
- Under 50
- Published
- 4 Feb 2026
Original amount 10,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 27 Jan 2026.
- Plant hire company fined £10,000 after employee struck by falling JCB bucket (HSE) Press release of an authority
- Companies House: Registereintrag Salford Grab Hire Ltd (10895680) Official register or notice
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
20 Nov 2025 ein Dachdeckerbetrieb in EnglandRoofing contractor: 16,650 GBP after fall through skylight opening €18,888
While re-covering a flat roof on a residential property in England, an employee fell more than three metres through an open skylight opening and needed surgery. The business (a micro-enterprise with fewer than 10 employees) had not planned the work at height and had provided neither a crash deck nor netting; fine of 16,650 GBP plus 7,205 GBP in costs.
Secure or provide protection beneath openings before work starts, even on small roofing jobs; planning is mandatory, not optional.
- Authority / court
- Birmingham Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive)
- Area of law
- Health and safety and employment law · Workplace safety and accidents
- Legal basis
- Section 3(1) Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Employees
- Under 50
- Published
- 25 Nov 2025
Original amount 16,650 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 20 Nov 2025.
- HSE, Pressemitteilungen (Übersicht) (Entscheidung 2025) Press release of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
30 Oct 2025 Barratt Redrow, Persimmon, Taylor Wimpey u. a. (7 Wohnungsbauunternehmen)CMA: seven housebuilders pay GBP 100m after suspected information exchange €113.6m
The CMA accepted binding commitments from Barratt Redrow, Bellway, Berkeley, Bloor Homes, Persimmon, Taylor Wimpey and Vistry after investigating whether they had exchanged competitively sensitive information such as achieved sale prices. The companies committed to stop sharing such information, introduce compliance measures and annual competition law training, help develop industry guidance and jointly pay GBP 100m to affordable housing programmes; no infringement was found.
Even exchanging current sale prices with competitors can trigger a competition investigation and large payments; contacts with competitors need clear rules and training.
Exchanging pricing and sales information with competitors
Missing or inadequate training played a role in the decision.
- Authority / court
- Competition and Markets Authority (CMA)
- Area of law
- Competition law · Cartels and collusion
- Legal basis
- Chapter I prohibition Competition Act 1998 (Verdacht); Verpflichtungszusagen nach section 31A Competition Act 1998
- Action
- Other
- Status of proceedings
- final
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Published
- 30 Oct 2025
Original amount 100,000,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 30 Oct 2025.
- CMA case page: Investigation into suspected anti-competitive conduct by housebuilders Enforcement database of an authority
- CMA: Decision to accept commitments in relation to suspected anti-competitive conduct by certain housebuilders, Case 51392 (30 October 2025) Decision of an authority
Checked against the official source on 3 Oct 2026 · Direct link
Report an error
2 Oct 2025 Lanes Group LimitedLanes Group: fatal accident with high-pressure hose – 800,000 GBP €917,326
While a high-pressure jetting system was being primed in freezing conditions in 2022, a pressure release occurred and the end of the hose struck a drainage engineer in the face; he died two and a half weeks later. There was no safe system of work, jetting vices were not properly maintained, monitoring was lacking, and information, instruction, training and supervision were insufficient; fine of 800,000 GBP (reduced from 1.2 million GBP for an early guilty plea) plus 8,680 GBP in costs. According to its consolidated accounts (financial year to July 2024), the company employed 2,268 people and the group 3,610.
Make routine safe with high-pressure equipment: always secure hose ends mechanically, include weather risks such as frost in work instructions and check compliance.
Safe working with high-pressure water jetting equipment
Missing or inadequate training played a role in the decision.
- Authority / court
- City of London Magistrates' Court (Anklage: Health and Safety Executive)
- Area of law
- Health and safety and employment law · Workplace safety and accidents
- Legal basis
- Section 2(1) Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Employees
- 1,000 to 9,999
- Mitigating circumstances
- Early guilty plea (reduction from 1.2 million GBP to 800,000 GBP)
- Published
- 6 Oct 2025
Original amount 800,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 2 Oct 2025.
- Lanes Group Limited fined £800k after investigation into death of devoted father (HSE) Press release of an authority
- Companies House: Registereintrag Lanes Group Limited (03784486) Official register or notice
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
28 Aug 2025 Home Improvement Marketing LtdICO: £300,000 fine for Home Improvement Marketing over 2.4 million automated calls €347,343
The ICO fined Home Improvement Marketing Ltd £300,000 and issued an enforcement notice. After executing a search warrant in March 2024, it found that between 31 May and 31 August 2023 the company had instigated 2,449,380 automated marketing calls without prior consent; 274 complaints were received. According to the ICO, the software responded to recipients' answers and offered no way to opt out of further calls. The legal basis is regulations 19 and 24 of PECR.
- Authority / court
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO)
- Area of law
- Data protection · Marketing and consent
- Legal basis
- Regulations 19 und 24 PECR; section 55A DPA 1998
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
Original amount 300,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 28 Aug 2025.
- ICO Enforcement: Home Improvement Marketing Ltd (MPN). Enthält Informationen des Information Commissioner's Office, lizenziert unter der Open Government Licence v3.0. Enforcement database of an authority
- Monetary Penalty Notice: Home Improvement Marketing Ltd (28 August 2025) Decision of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
28 Aug 2025 Green Spark Energy LtdICO: £250,000 fine for Green Spark Energy over 9.6 million automated marketing calls €289,452
The ICO fined Green Spark Energy Ltd £250,000 and issued an enforcement notice. After executing a search warrant in March 2024, the regulator found that from May 2023 to May 2024 the company had instigated 9,587,050 automated calls carrying recorded marketing messages; 497 complaints were received. According to the ICO, the recordings contained misleading statements designed to pressure homeowners, for example about supposed risks of their existing loft insulation. The legal basis is regulations 19 and 24 of PECR.
- Authority / court
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO)
- Area of law
- Data protection · Marketing and consent
- Legal basis
- Regulations 19 und 24 PECR; section 55A DPA 1998
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
Original amount 250,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 28 Aug 2025.
- ICO Enforcement: Green Spark Energy Ltd (MPN). Enthält Informationen des Information Commissioner's Office, lizenziert unter der Open Government Licence v3.0. Enforcement database of an authority
- Monetary Penalty Notice: Green Spark Energy Ltd (28 August 2025) Decision of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 2 · Direct link
Report an error
29 Aug 2024 a UK concierge and property services companyOFSI: GBP 15,000 penalty for concierge services company over payments for a designated person's property €17,820
On 29 August 2024 OFSI imposed a monetary penalty of GBP 15,000 on a UK concierge and property services company. According to OFSI's findings, the small property management company made or received 26 payments totalling GBP 15,487.30 in 2022 and 2023 in connection with a property owned by a designated person, thereby dealing with frozen funds or making funds available for that person's benefit. Other payments were covered by a general licence, but the company failed to make the reports the licence required; OFSI treated this as a further breach and as an aggravating factor but did not impose a separate penalty for it. The company had not disclosed the breaches voluntarily. It made no representations and did not request a ministerial review. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/).
- Authority / court
- HM Treasury, Office of Financial Sanctions Implementation (OFSI)
- Area of law
- Sanctions and export control · Breaches of sanctions and embargoes
- Legal basis
- regulations 11(1) and 13(1) of the Russia (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019; Geldbuße nach section 146 Policing and Crime Act 2017
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- final
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- Published
- 26 Sep 2024
Original amount 15,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 29 Aug 2024.
- OFSI, Durchsetzung von Finanzsanktionen (Übersicht) (Entscheidung 2024) Decision of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 4 · Company name anonymised since 29 Aug 2026 · Direct link
Report an error
15 Aug 2024 a UK windows and conservatories companyICO: GBP 40,000 fine for windows company over calls to TPS numbers €46,721
On 15 August 2024 the ICO fined a UK windows and conservatories company GBP 40,000 and served an enforcement notice on the same day. According to the ICO's findings, between 1 January and 1 June 2023 the company made 18,280 unsolicited marketing calls to lines that had been on the TPS or CTPS opt-out registers for at least 28 days, without the subscribers having agreed to such calls; eight complaints resulted. The ICO treated this as a breach of regulation 21(1)(b) of PECR. Under the notice, payment by 16 September 2024 reduced the fine to GBP 32,000.
- Authority / court
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO)
- Area of law
- Data protection · Marketing and consent
- Legal basis
- Regulation 21(1)(b) PECR; section 55A DPA 1998 (Geldbuße); section 40 DPA 1998 (Enforcement Notice)
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
Original amount 40,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 15 Aug 2024.
- ICO, Übersicht der Durchsetzungsmaßnahmen (Entscheidung 2024) Enforcement database of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 4 · Company name anonymised since 15 Aug 2026 · Direct link
Report an error
6 Jun 2024 a British timber importer in the construction sectorBritish timber importer: notice of remedial action – timber imported without due diligence Order
As operator, the company placed pine plywood from Russia on the market without exercising due diligence to reduce the risk of illegally harvested timber in the supply chain to a negligible level. The Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS) issued a Notice of Remedial Action under Regulation 11 of the Timber Regulations 2013.
Anyone placing timber or timber products on the market for the first time must check and document origin and legality – including for supplies from neighbouring countries.
Due diligence in timber purchasing (origin, legality of harvest, risk mitigation)
- Authority / court
- Office for Product Safety and Standards (OPSS), Department for Business and Trade
- Area of law
- Supply chain and human rights · Supply chain due diligence
- Legal basis
- Timber and Timber Products (Placing on the Market) Regulations 2013, Regulation 4(b) (Sorgfaltspflicht nach Verordnung (EU) Nr. 995/2010 in der im UK fortgeltenden Fassung)
- Action
- Order
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- OPSS, Enforcement Actions (Übersicht) (Entscheidung 2024) Enforcement database of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 4 · Company name anonymised since 6 Jun 2026 · Direct link
Report an error
9 Apr 2024 a Scottish charitable social landlordICO: reprimand for housing association over a faulty tenant portal Reprimand or warning
The ICO issued a reprimand to a Scottish charitable social landlord with around 4,700 properties. According to the ICO's findings, a new customer portal went live on 14 July 2022 with a configuration error that gave residents with an ongoing anti-social behaviour case access to other residents' documents. 139 people were affected, 62 of whom the association considered at high risk; the data remained visible for five days because a first report from a resident was not escalated. According to the association, testing before launch had only checked functionality, not data protection. The ICO found this breached Article 5(1)(f) UK GDPR. The reprimand is undated; the date follows the ICO case page.
- Authority / court
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO)
- Area of law
- Data protection · Data breaches and data security
- Legal basis
- Art. 5(1)(f) UK GDPR; Verwarnung nach Art. 58(2)(b) UK GDPR
- Action
- Reprimand or warning
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- ICO, Übersicht der Durchsetzungsmaßnahmen (Entscheidung 2024) Enforcement database of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 4 · Company name anonymised since 9 Apr 2026 · Direct link
Report an error
11 Jan 2024 a UK company making home improvement marketing callsICO: GBP 100,000 fine for UK company over marketing calls about driveways and grants €116,083
On 11 January 2024 the ICO fined the company GBP 100,000 and served an enforcement notice on the same day. According to the ICO's findings, between 2 March and 31 May 2022 the company instigated 614,342 unsolicited marketing calls to numbers that had been registered with the TPS for more than 28 days; complainants said the calls promoted energy grants for resin driveways. The people called were also not given the caller information required by law. The ICO treated this as a breach of regulations 21 and 24 of PECR. Under the notice, payment by 13 February 2024 reduced the fine to GBP 80,000.
- Authority / court
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO)
- Area of law
- Data protection · Marketing and consent
- Legal basis
- Regulation 21 und 24 PECR; section 55A DPA 1998 (Geldbuße); section 40 DPA 1998 (Enforcement Notice)
- Action
- Fine
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
Original amount 100,000 GBP, converted at the ECB reference rate of 11 Jan 2024.
- ICO, Übersicht der Durchsetzungsmaßnahmen (Entscheidung 2024) Enforcement database of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 4 · Company name anonymised since 11 Jan 2026 · Direct link
Report an error
14 Nov 2023 a UK construction materials supplierICO: reprimand for construction materials supplier after a ransomware attack via remote access without MFA Reprimand or warning
The ICO issued a reprimand to a UK supplier of construction materials. According to the ICO, on 11 March 2022 a threat actor gained access to the network, deployed ransomware and exfiltrated data, including personal data of 2,022 current and former UK employees (among other things identity documents, bank details and HR records). According to the ICO's findings, access was gained through a subsidiary's remote desktop service that had no multi-factor authentication; in addition, the company had carried out no formal security testing such as vulnerability scanning or penetration testing before the incident, and the attacker exploited a vulnerability that had been public for more than two years. The ICO found infringements of Article 32(1), 32(1)(b) and 32(1)(d) UK GDPR. The reprimand is undated; the date follows the ICO case page.
- Authority / court
- Information Commissioner's Office (ICO)
- Area of law
- Information security and cyber · Security measures and risk management
- Legal basis
- Art. 32(1), 32(1)(b) und 32(1)(d) UK GDPR; Verwarnung nach Art. 58(2)(b) UK GDPR
- Action
- Reprimand or warning
- Status of proceedings
- unknown
- Sector
- Construction and real estate
- ICO, Übersicht der Durchsetzungsmaßnahmen (Entscheidung 2023) Enforcement database of an authority
Checked against the official source on 28 Sep 2026 · Version 4 · Company name anonymised since 14 Nov 2025 · Direct link